World Endoscopy Organization (WEO)

The Voice of World Endoscopy

WEO Research Award

WEO Research Award winners 2011The WEO Research Award was founded in order to encourage young and talented endoscopists. This Award is presented annually to three endoscopists who have made a particularly important contribution to research in the field of Digestive Endoscopy. Winners from around the world are chosen based on the importance of their work, and the quality of their publication.

Winners 2015:

  • Lorenzo Fuccio
  • Alan Moss
  • Saowanee Ngamruengphong

Winners 2013:

  • William D. Lyday
    Radiofrequency ablation of Barrett's esophagus: outcomes of 429 patients from a multicenter community practice registry: ENDOSCOPY 2010
  • Tomofumi Akasaka
    Short-term outcomes of endoscopic submucosal dissection (ESD) for early gastric neoplasm: multicenter survey by osaka university ESD study group: DIGESTIVE ENDOSCOPY 2011
  • Zhuan Liao
    Indications and detection, completion, and retention rates of small-bowel capsule endoscopy: a systematic review: GASTROINTESTINAL ENDOSCOPY 2010

Winners 2012:

  • Asif Khalid
    Pancreatic cyst fluid DNA analysis in evaluating pancreatic cysts: a report of the PANDA study: GASTROINTESTINAL ENDOSCOPY 2009
  • Vasileios Panteris
    Colonoscopy perforation rate, mechanisms and outcome: from diagnostic to therapeutic colonoscopy: ENDOSCOPY 2009
  • Shu Hoteya
    Endoscopic Submucosal Dissection for Gastric Submucosal Tumor, Endoscopic Sub-Tumoral Dissection: DIGESTIVE ENDOSCOPY 2009

Winners 2011:

  • Kerry Dunbar
    Confocal laser endomicroscopy in Barrett's esophagus and endoscopically inapparent Barrett's neoplasia: a prospective, randomized, double-blind, controlled, crossover trial: GASTROINTESTINAL ENDOSCOPY 2009
  • Emanuele Rondonotti
    Small-bowel neoplasms in patients undergoing video capsule endoscopy: a multicenter European study: ENDOSCOPY 2008
  • Jun Horaguchi
    Endosonography-guided biliary drainage in cases with difficult transpillary endoscopic biliary drainage: DIGESTIVE ENDOSCOPY OCT 2009

Winners 2010:

  • Virender Sharma
    Balloon-based, circumferential, endoscopic radiofrequency ablation of Barrett's esophagus: 1-year follow-up of 100 patients, Gastrointestinal Endoscopy 2007
  • Evelien Dekker
    Narrow-band imaging compared with conventional colonoscopy for the detection of dysplasia in patients with longstanding ulcerative colitis, Endoscopy 2007
  • Akihiro Mori
    Cardiovascular tolerance in upper gastrointestinal endoscopy using an ultrathin scope: Prospective randomized comparison between transnasal and transoral procedures: Digestive Endoscopy, 2008

Winners 2009:

  • Reina Pai
    Transcolonic endoscopic cholecystectomy: a NOTES survival study in a porcine model, Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, 2006
  • Peter Mensink
    Complications of double balloon enteroscopy: a multicenter survey Endoscopy, 2007
  • Teruyuki Usuba
    Analysis of buried bumper syndrome after percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy due to use of a button-type kit. Digestive Endoscopy 2007
WEO logo
Home | Contact Us | Site Map