ENDO 2017, the first world Congress of the World Endoscopy Organization, co-hosted by the Asian Institute of Gastroenterology was an immense success and it has enhanced the WEO’s standing as the authority figure in GI endoscopy. WEO is extremely honored that in a highly competitive field, ENDO 2017 has won the International & European Association Award 2018 in the Best Conference Development category, presented by the Association of Associations Executives in Antwerp, Belgium, on March 13th.

The Association Awards raises the profile of associations, their executives, and gives them the recognition for their effort and success. Through the Association Awards and the Association Success Story Program, AAE facilitates the dissemination of in-depth case studies with practical information and data that enables associations to achieve the best results from their projects and developments. All nominations were judged by a prestigious judging panel consisting of influential association leaders and specialists, all focused on the continuous improvement of associations: UK, International, and European.

Image 1: Hilary Hamilton-Gibbs (on the right), Manager of the WEO Executive Secretariat, accepting the award during International & European Awards Ceremony in Antwerp

What the judges said: “ENDO 2017 was a landmark in medical scientific conferences. It responded very precisely to the identified needs, covering a range of topics; provided excellent access to conference data from any mobile device.”

WEO is proud that ENDO 2017 has served as a platform to bring the global endoscopy community together, to stimulate international exchange and to establish best practices. WEO will continue to increase access and knowledge of endoscopy in underserved areas of the world, with strong support from member societies affiliated to its zone members: Asia-Pacific Society of Digestive Endoscopy A-PSDE, European Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy ESGE and Inter-American Society of Digestive Endoscopy SIED.

Jean-Francois Rey, WEO President wishes to thank the past presidents Nageshwar Reddy, Jerome Waye, Anthony TR Axon, William S. Chao† and members of the Executive Committee for their tremendous efforts in making ENDO 2017 a great success.

This recognition underscores the hard work of all involved in the organization, including the extensive support from Dr Reddy and the staff at Asian Institute of Gastroenterology. Also a very special thanks goes to Hamilton Services – the WEO Executive Secretariat.