Some of our WEO team have been feted by the American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ASGE). The prestigious ASGE Crystal Award event is an annual recognition of outstanding achievements in the field of endoscopy and patient care.

As Digestive Diseases Week 2020 was cancelled because of COVID-19 the awards were presented virtually. This year three members of our WEO executive committees received special recognition.

The WEO Newsletter team congratulates all the recipients:

Dr Jerome D. Waye, Chair of WEO Centers of Excellence Committee and former WEO President

Dr Jerome D. Waye received the ASGE Distinguished Service Award for 2020.

A former WEO President, Dr Waye also edited the WEO newsletter and helped Dr Nalini Guda transition to the role of WEO editor and continues to guide the team. He has served on the WEO Executive Committee in various roles, contributing to the growth of the organization. He was the architect of WEO’s CORE program (Collaboration of Organized and Recognized Endoscopy units).

Dr Waye has been a pioneer in fiberoptic endoscopy, especially colonoscopy, and has taught countless endoscopists throughout the world.  He has recently retired from active clinical practice after thoroughly enjoying it for over 51 years but remains committed to mentoring and education. He has the distinction of having given lectures in every continent but Antarctica. He has previously been President of the American College of Gastroenterology and of the American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, and has received the highest awards from both these societies. He has published over 200 papers in peer-reviewed journals along with countless book chapters. His teaching mission continues, most recently in training colonoscopy skills in Africa.

Dr D. Nageshwar Reddy, ENDO 2022 Chair of the Steering Committee and former WEO President 

Dr D. Nageshwar Reddy, also a former WEO President and who was instrumental in conducting the first WEO Congress in Hyderabad, India in 2017, was presented with the ASGE President’s Award. 

Dr Reddy needs little introduction to the world of endoscopy. He is Chairman of the Asian Institute of Gastroenterology where he has built a strong team of clinical endoscopists along with a translational research unit. His reputation is not only for great endoscopy skills but also as a champion for endoscopy education and for social issues.

He has been awarded one of their highest civilian awards, the Padma Bhushan, by the Government of India. He has over 600 peer-reviewed publications to his credit and has participated in countless endoscopic training programs.

He is an inspiration to many endoscopists and actively advances the WEO mission.

Dr Fabian Emura, WEO President and ENDO 2022 President

Dr Fabian Emura was awarded the ASGE International Service Award.

This distinguished honor is presented each year to a member who has served in a significant way to advance the mission of the ASGE in the international community.

Dr Emura, the WEO President, is currently an Associate Professor of Medicine at Universidad de La Sabana, Bogotá D.C., Colombia. He is a general surgeon by training and completed his endoscopy training at the National Cancer Center Hospital in Tokyo, Japan.

He was instrumental in founding the EmuraCenter LatinAmerica, an international referral facility where training in advanced endoscopic techniques has been provided to more than 240 gastroenterologists from the Americas.

His research interests include the evaluation and endoscopic treatment of GI tumors. The EmuraCenter annually organizes screening programs to benefit those who are economically disadvantaged in the region. Dr Emura has over 70 publications in peer-reviewed journals and has written several books and book chapters. He is actively engaged in medical education and has developed several international endoscopy training programs.

Dr Emura brings to WEO the experience he has gained from his longitudinal contribution to endoscopy demonstrated in part through his service as President of both the Colombian Society of Digestive Endoscopy (2014-2016) and the InterAmerican Society of Digestive Endoscopy (2014-2016) and as member of the ASGE international committee (2011-2018).