In this issue we introduce Prateek Sharma (USA). His outstanding contribution to this field made him a natural choice for Chair of the new WEO Esophageal Disease Ad hoc Committee.

Dr Prateek Sharma, Chair of the WEO Esophageal Disease Ad Hoc Committee

Dr Sharma says: “It is an honor to lead the WEO Esophageal Disease Ad Hoc Committee. Our goal will be to provide guidance to endoscopists across the globe on a standardized approach to common esophageal diseases.”

Prateek Sharma, MD, FASGE, is Professor of Medicine, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, University of Kansas School of Medicine and VA Medical Center, Kansas City, USA. He is also Program Fellowship Director, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, at the University of Kansas School of Medicine.

He completed his internal medicine residency at the Medical College of Wisconsin in Milwaukee, USA and his Gastroenterology Fellowship at the University of Arizona in Tucson. Dr Sharma’s research has focused on upper gastrointestinal (GI) diseases, including Barrett’s esophagus, esophageal cancer, and gastroesophageal reflux disease, and on the evaluation of novel imaging techniques for upper and lower GI diseases.

He is a world-renowned physician, teacher, and educator. He has over 400 publications including original articles and book chapters and has presented at major national and international meetings. In addition, he has co-edited several pioneering books. Dr Sharma publishes in high impact journals including the New England Journal of Medicine, Annals of Internal Medicine, Alimentary Pharmacology and Therapeutics, The American Journal of Gastroenterology, Gastroenterology, Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, Endoscopy, and Gut. He serves as a reviewer for most of the major medicine and gastroenterology subspecialty journals. 

As well as currently chairing the new WEO Esophageal Disease Ad Hoc Committee, Dr Sharma is also responsible for chairing the Scientific Committee of ENDO 2022, WEO’s flagship World Congress of GI Endoscopy, to be held May 13–15, 2022 in Kyoto, Japan.

More about the WEO Esophageal Disease Ad Hoc Committee

The WEO Esophageal Disease Ad Hoc Committee aims to finalize publication of the Rio Consensus on Barrett’s Esophagus, and to consider the development of recommendations for the endoscopic therapy of esophageal squamous cell cancer. The Committee is chaired by Dr Prateek Sharma (USA).

The Committee, consisting of recognized international experts, facilitates international discussion, research, and networking.

For more information on WEO Committees, their Chairs, and WEO educational offers, see